Best Odds Center
best odds centre button
Click here!
Live Sport
watch live tv button
Click here!
to watch
Click here!
Live Scores
play watch Live Score button
Click here!

NSF Inter Club Championship Finals: Team Kaduna picks the first ticket

Posted : 26 February 2024

Kaduna Central Scrabble Club has emerged as the first team to punch a ticket to the 2024 Nigeria Scrabble Federation Inter Club Championship finals scheduled to be held in Abeokuta, Ogun State, Southwest Nigeria, in April.


The team from the North-West zone, under the leadership of Othman Abdulaziz, secured their passage to the much-awaited finals with the help of Sadiq Abubakar, Baba Adamu, Suraj Aminu, Orkuma Gideon, Abdulsalam Abdulkadir, and Attahiru Abdullahi at the expense of the South Side Scrabble Club and Kaduna at the weekend after a titanic battle at the Jollywood Gardens, Sabon Tasha.


South Side Club failed to click despite the tremendous efforts of Danjuma Idris, Donatus Idogbe, Adeka Akochi, Odunayo Wellington, Bathlomew Okafor, Jonathan Sani, and Neino Jonathan. Eleven other clubs are expected to emerge from the North Central, South West, South East, and South South of the geo-sporting zones of Nigeria for the grand finale.


Warri Scrabble Club, parading the likes of famous wordsmith Emmanuel Umujose, winner of the PANASA President’s Cup Godwin Victor, Daystar Atti, Jacob Tone, Etuwa Larry, Akpojotor Ochuko, and Peremor Ekpesaba, are the defending champions of the NSF Inter Club Championship.


The Technical Director of the Nigeria Scrabble Federation, John Curtis, stated that 28 clubs from over 13 states of the Federation and the Nigeria Police are participating in this year’s event. The states are: Lagos (eight clubs), Ogun, Oyo, Ekiti, Edo with two clubs, Delta (three clubs), Bayelsa, and Plateau.


Others are: Kaduna (two clubs), Rivers (two clubs), Ondo, Anambra, and the Federal Capital Territory (four clubs). The much-dreaded UNILAG Scrabble Club, captained by current African Scrabble champion Enoch Nwali, tops the list of notable clubs that are competing in this year’s edition.


Recently-crowned West African Scrabble King, Oluwatimilehin Doko, is another heavyweight in the team. The winners of the second edition of Scrabble in the Jungle, Musa Lateef, the African U-19 champion, and the runners-up of Scrabble in the Jungle, David Ojih, Kareem Jamiu, Babajide Alagbada, and Grace Jompe, complete the UNILAG SC crack squad.


Other participating clubs: Apex SC, Yenagoa SC, Egbin SC, Ikorodu SC, Nigeria Police SC, Sunshine SC, Benin SC (A and B), Pyramid SC, Sapele SC, Surulere SC, Ibadan SC, and Jos SC. Others are: Shell SC, Lekki SC, South Side SC, Kaduna Central SC, BSP SC, Asaba SC, CSCA SC (A, B, and C), Anambra SC, Port Harcourt SC, Alausa SC, Warri SC, and Abeokuta SC.


The Inter Club Championship is one of the four events lined up for this year’s NSF Scrabble Festival. The others are the Asaph Zadok National Championship, the Annual General Meeting (AGM), and Awards and Gala Night. Delta State are the defending champions of the Asaph Zadok National Championship, with Eta Paul Karo as the holder of the NSF Green Jacket 2023.


Hot Topics

close button
Please fill captcha :