Best Odds Center
best odds centre button
Click here!
Live Sport
watch live tv button
Click here!
to watch
Click here!
Live Scores
play watch Live Score button
Click here!

U-20 Colombia 2024 qualifiers: Nigeria Iines up Folorunsho, Ajakaye, Adoo, 16 others for Tanzania

Posted : 07 November 2023
The head coach of Nigeria's U-20 girls, Christopher Musa Danjuma, has selected three goalkeepers, six defenders, five midfielders, and five forwards for the FIFA U20 Women's World Cup second-round qualifying match against their Tanzanian counterparts, which will take place next Sunday.

Goalkeeper Faith Omilana, who played a starring role in the Nigeria U17 team's journey to a historic FIFA U17 Women's World Cup bronze medal finish in India last year, is named alongside her fellow India 2022 star, Taiwo Afolabi. Also on the list are defender Comfort Folorunsho and forward Opeyemi Ajakaye, who played pivotal roles in India and were part of the Super Falcons' victory over Ethiopia in a 2024 Women's Olympic Football Tournament qualifying fixture last month.

The 2022 FIFA World Cup quarter-finalists have been training in Abuja for over two weeks and will face the Tanzanian team at the Azam Sports Complex in Dar es Salaam on Sunday at 3 pm Tanzanian time (1 pm Nigerian time).

Both teams will meet again at the MKO Abiola National Stadium, Abuja, on Sunday, November 19, with the winner on aggregate advancing to the third round of the qualification for the 2024 FIFA U20 Women's World Cup in Colombia.

The Confederation of African Football has appointed Letticia Antonella Viana from e-Swatini as the referee for the match, assisted by her compatriots Patricia Mkhaliph, Siphiwayikhosi Nxumalo, and Nothando Nkhumane as the first assistant referee, second assistant referee, and fourth official, respectively. Margaret Omondi from Kenya will serve as the match commissioner.

Team List
Goalkeepers: Anderline Mgbechi (Delta Queens); Shukura Bakare (Nasarawa Amazons); Faith Omilana (Naija Ratels)

Defenders: Oluchi Ohaegbulem (Nasarawa Amazons); Comfort Folorunsho (Edo Queens); Rihanat Kasali (Bayelsa Queens); Jumoke Alani (Edo Queens); Shukurat Oladipo (FC Robo Queens); Semilore Oladeji (Naija Ratels)

Midfielders: Adoo Yina (Nasarawa Amazons); Taiwo Afolabi (Delta Queens); Shola Shobowale (Nasarawa Amazons); Aminat Folorunsho (Rivers Angels); Chioma Olise (Edo Queens)

Forwards: Opeyemi Ajakaye (FC Robo Queens); Judith Okah (Remo Queens); Chiamaka Okwuchukwu (Rivers Angels); Chisom Chima (Bayelsa Queens); Janet Akekoromowei (Asisat Academy).


Hot Topics

close button
Please fill captcha :