Best Odds Center
best odds centre button
Click here!
Live Sport
watch live tv button
Click here!
to watch
Click here!
Live Scores
play watch Live Score button
Click here!

PS Ismaila Abubakar heads Ogun 2024 NSF MOC, Olopade, Gumel, others make list

Posted : 07 November 2023
The Minister of Sports Development, Senator John Owan Enoh, announced on Tuesday the inauguration of the Main Organising Committee (MOC) of the 22nd National Sports Festival scheduled to take place in Ogun State next year.

The inauguration of the MOC for the NSF Ogun 2024 ceremony was held at the media center of MKO Abiola Stadium, National Stadium Complex Abuja.

The minister charged members of the committee to work diligently to ensure the success of the games next year.

Owan-Enoh noted that delivering successful games requires hard work and expressed optimism that the committee would overcome challenges with the commitment of the Ogun state government and the caliber of its members.

Sports Minister Owan-Enoh observed that the usual practice involved sharing the funding of the games between the Ministry of Sports and the state hosting the games.

He emphasized that with the National Sports Industry Policy coming into play, sports should be seen not only as recreation but also as a business.

He noted that after 22 years, the National Sports Games has become a brand capable of attracting corporate sponsorship. The minister encouraged the committee to present the games in a way that makes it attractive for private sector sponsorship.

He described sports as a multi-billion-dollar business and believed that a private sector-driven sports industry could work in Nigeria as it does in other countries.

Senator Owan Enoh appealed to the private sector and corporate organizations to support sports development in the country.

In response on behalf of the newly inaugurated committee, Ismaila Abubakar, the Permanent Secretary of the ministry and Chairman of the Organizing Committee, assured the Minister that the committee was fully aware that the responsibility of organizing successful games rests on them. He pledged that the committee would mobilize both human and material resources to ensure the games are hosted without hitches.

Earlier, Wasiu Isiaka, the Ogun state Commissioner of Sports, assured the Minister that the state was fully prepared to deliver a successful event.

The Main Organising Committee (MOC) of the National Sports Festival comprises Ismaila Abubakar, Permanent Secretary of Sports Development as Chairman and Bukola Olapade, Chairman of LOC, as Vice Chairman. Other members of the committee include Dr. Paul Onyeudo, Olufehinti Olusegun, Mohammed Manga, Gregory Zi, Ms. Fadeke Fadeyibi, Engr. Abolore Alanamu, Patrick Okeke, Mrs. Amaka Ashiofu, Prof. Olawale Moronkola, Engr. Habu Gumel, Sunday Odebode, Emmanuel Utobo, Bamiduro Olumide, and Brendan Ndifon.


Hot Topics

close button
Please fill captcha :