Best Odds Center
best odds centre button
Click here!
Live Sport
watch live tv button
Click here!
to watch
Click here!
Live Scores
play watch Live Score button
Click here!

Osimhen grabs four nominations at 10th Nigeria Pitch Awards

Posted : 01 March 2024

Reigning African Footballer of the Year and Nigeria's Super Eagles forward has earned the highest nominations at the 10th Nigeria Pitch Awards with four nominations in different categories.


In a nomination category released by the organizers of the Nigeria Pitch Awards through its voters' collation agent SIAO Partners, Osimhen, among other Super Eagles and Super Falcons Stars, gets nominated in different categories.


The unveiling of the nominations was held at the Ibis Hotels Ikeja, Lagos.


Napoli FC forward, Osimhen, however, got the highest nominations, which include Striker of the Year, King of the Year, Sam Okwaraji, and Sportsmanship of the Year Award.


Also, Victor Boniface of Bayern Leverkusen of Germany got two nominations, while serial African Women Footballer of the Year, Asisat Oshoala, also got a nomination.


Speaking on the 10th-anniversary rendezvous, the President of Nigeria Pitch Awards, Shina Phillips, said that the event would be a landmark.


Victor Osimhen Dominates with Four Nominations at Nigeria Pitch Awards


"First, I thank God that we have gone this far, and this is the 10th edition. We have reeled out the programs for this unique celebration.


"We are also glad with the richness of the nominees, which were released by our partners in charge of the collation. We believe that the 10th edition will be a special one.


"All the plans for the 10th anniversary cannot be reeled out at once, so as the time comes, we will be unfolding the events; for now, we want to start with a Football Summit.


"At the summit, we want to discuss the way forward for Nigeria's football because we believe that a lot can be injected. We have done our best, this far, but we can do a whole lot more," he said.


Phillips restated that the unblemished record of the Nigeria Pitch Awards has made it stand out as one of the most credible awards in Nigeria and in the continent of Africa.


"If anything is special celebrating the 10th anniversary, it is because the process that we have put in place is free and fair.


"Those that have gotten the awards are deserving and were given such on merit. We have done our best to see that the winners are adjudged to be the best and that the platform remains incontrovertible.


"We believe that the 10th edition will attract more Nigerians. It is important that we celebrate our heroes and it is also important that we have a platform that can reward them for their sacrifice.


"I am sure that the award will spur a lot of players and beyond the players, but across the country," he said.


The full list is:
Goalkeeper of the Year 1. Kingdom Osayi (Doma United FC) 2. Amas Obasoge (Bendel Insurance FC) 3. Ojo Olorunleke (Enyimba International FC) Defender of the Year 1. Calvin Bassey (Fulham FC England) 2. Ola Aina (Nottingham Forest, England) 3. Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahçe, Turkey) Midfielder of the Year 1. Yusuf Al-Hassan (Royal Antwerp, Belgium) 2. Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England) 3. Alex Iwobi (Fulham FC, England) Striker of the Year 1. Robert Mizo (Bayelsa United FC) 2. Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy) 3. Victor Boniface (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany) Sam Okwaraji Award 1. Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy) 2. Ahmed Musa (Sivasspor, Turkey) 3. Kunle Soname (Bet9ja) Queen of the Pitch 1. Rasheedat Ajibade (Atlético Madrid, Spain) 2. Chiamaka Nnadozie (French Division 1 Féminine) 3. Asisat Oshoala (Barcelona FC, Féminine, Spain) King of the Pitch 1. Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy) 2. Emeka Obiora (Shooting Stars SC) 3. Victor Boniface (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany) Team of the Year 1. Super Falcons 2. Enyimba International FC 3. Remo Stars FC


Coach of the Year 1. Daniel Ogunmodede (Remo Stars FC) 2. Finidi George (Enyimba International FC) 3. Randy Waldrum (Super Falcon) State with the Best Grassroots Football Development Programme 1. Edo State 2. Delta State 3. Lagos State Football Friendly Governor of the Year 1. Pastor Umo Eno (Akwa Ibom) 2. Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos) 3. Godwin Obaseki (Edo) Football Pitch of the Year 1. Mobolaji Johnson Arena, Onikan 2. Remo Stars Stadium Media category Football Journalist of the Year (Print) 1. Christopher Okparah (The Guardian) 2. Charles Diya (New Telegraph) 3. Johnny Edward (Punch) Football Journalist of the Year (TV) 1. Myen Akiri (TVc) 2. Moses Praiz (Super Sports) 3. Cecilia Omoregie (Channels TV) Football Journalist of the Year (Radio) 1. Olawale Adigun (Mainland FM) 2. Olayinka Oyedele (Brilla Sport) 3. Anthony Berekederemo (Brilla FM) Football Journalist of the Year (Online) 1. Samuel Amidu (Savid News) 2. Tobi Adepoju (Oganla Media) 3. Kunle Solaja (Sportsvillagesquare) Corporate category Corporate Sponsor of Football Award 1. Bet9ja 2. MTN 3. GTI Financial Sportsmanship Award 1. Kunle Soname 2. Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy).


Hot Topics

close button
Please fill captcha :