Best Odds Center
best odds centre button
Click here!
Live Sport
watch live tv button
Click here!
to watch
Click here!
Live Scores
play watch Live Score button
Click here!

Messi wins FIFA Best Awards amidst controversy over Haaland snub

Posted : 16 January 2024

Argentina's Lionel Messi secured the FIFA Men's Player of the Year at the Best FIFA Awards, beating Manchester City's Erling Haaland and Paris Saint-Germain's Kylian Mbappe. Messi, now at Inter Miami, won the award for the third time, having scored nine goals for PSG and 10 for Inter Miami. Haaland, who netted a record 36 Premier League goals, finished second. Mbappe, who won Ligue 1 with PSG and secured a fifth consecutive Golden Boot, claimed the third spot.


Why Lionel Messi was given FIFA Best award after voting tied with Erling  Haaland - Mirror Online

City's Ederson received the Best FIFA Men's Goalkeeper award, surpassing Real Madrid's Thibaut Courtois and Al Hilal's Yassine Bounou. Manchester City dominated the Men's Team of the Year with six players: John Stones, Kyle Walker, Ruben Dias, Bernardo Silva, Kevin De Bruyne, and Erling Haaland. Real Madrid's Thibaut Courtois, Jude Bellingham, Kylian Mbappe, Lionel Messi (Inter Miami), and Vinicius Jr (Real Madrid) completed the lineup.


Man City's Ederson named FIFA Best Goalkeeper in recognition of  treble-winning season |


Pep Guardiola secured the Men's Coach of the Year after guiding Manchester City to a historic treble, overcoming competition from Luciano Spalletti and Simone Inzaghi. Six Manchester City players expressed gratitude for Guardiola's coaching style, emphasizing the intensity that brings out the best in every player. Guardiola acknowledged the players' contribution, thanking them for the incredible journey over eight years.


Manchester City boss Pep Guardiola named best men's coach at FIFA awards |  beIN SPORTS


Brighton's Julio Enciso was a nominee for the Puskas Award for the best goal but missed out to Brazilian Guilherme Madruga of Botafogo, recognized for his spectacular 25-yard overhead kick in the second tier of Brazilian football. The awards covered performances from December 19, 2022, to August 20, 2023, deviating from the usual calendar year to include the Qatar World Cup in last year's ceremony.


Hot Topics

close button
Please fill captcha :