Best Odds Center
best odds centre button
Click here!
Live Sport
watch live tv button
Click here!
to watch
Click here!
Live Scores
play watch Live Score button
Click here!

Golden Eaglets gear up for WAFU B U-17 title defense in Ghana

Posted : 11 May 2024

You can now watch all NPFL matches Live:


Champions Nigeria will arrive in the Ghanaian capital, Accra, on Saturday to defend their WAFU B U-17 Championship title at this year’s edition of the competition, which commences on Wednesday, May 15th.

The Golden Eaglets, five-time champions of the world, swept aside every opposition before them to achieve glory in another Ghanaian city, Kumasi, two years ago. However, they failed to light up the Africa U-17 Cup of Nations in Algeria and were therefore ineligible to compete for another world title in Indonesia.

However, 2013 FIFA World Cup-winning coach Manu Garba has been restored to the squad and will take charge of the ensemble that will tackle Burkina Faso, Niger Republic, and Togo in Group B of the upcoming WAFU B tournament, with the objective being qualification to take part in next year’s Africa U-17 Cup of Nations.

Garba will lead a technical crew that has the mandate not only to successfully defend the regional crown but also to continue to improve the squad for a great outing at the U-17 AFCON and onwards to a probable sixth world title.

The Eaglets begin their defense of the title when they confront their counterparts from Burkina Faso at the University Stadium on Thursday, May 16th, with kickoff set for 3 pm Ghana time (4 pm Nigeria time), before matches against Niger Republic on Sunday, May 19th (6 pm Ghana, 7 pm Nigeria), and Togo on Wednesday, May 22nd (4 pm Ghana, 5 pm Nigeria).

The match against Niger Republic will also be held at the University Stadium, while the clash with Togo will take place at the Accra Sports Stadium.

Nineteen players are penciled down for the WAFU B U17 championship:
Adekunle Sunday Adedigba, Sylvester Chizoba Chika, Daniel Ofonime Mendie, Destiny Samuel, Abdulwaris Yunus, Boluwatife David Ekishola, Ibrahim Damilare Abdulganiyu, Edward Oloche Ochigbo, Rapha Adams, Simon Karshe Cletus, Oreoluwa Olawale Agbenla, Okorie Marvelous Chibuike, Abdulmuiz Adeleke, John Ogwuche, Qurib Adetola, Chinedu Levi Dominic, Abdulmuiz Oluwatimilehin Oladimeji, Daniel Vowero Arierhi, and Imrana Muhammad.


Hot Topics

close button
Please fill captcha :