Best Odds Center
best odds centre button
Click here!
Live Sport
watch live tv button
Click here!
to watch
Click here!
Live Scores
play watch Live Score button
Click here!

Cameroon's Coach Song makes bold choices, excludes Choupo-Moting from AFCON Squad

Posted : 28 December 2023

Cameroon's head coach, Rigobert Song, revealed the Africa Cup of Nations squad on Thursday, featuring notable omissions, most prominently Bayern Munich striker Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting. Despite Choupo-Moting's significance, Song, a key figure in Cameroon's title triumphs in 2000 and 2002, emphasized the necessity of making choices.


The squad includes overseas talents such as Manchester United goalkeeper Andre Onana and Besiktas striker Vincent Aboubakar, with only two local players, forward Leonel Ateba and midfielder Wilfried Nathan Douala, earning Song's nod.


Bayern Munich's Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting Left Out Of Cameroon's Cup Of  Nations Squad - News18


The bold decision to exclude Choupo-Moting showcases Song's commitment to fostering new talent, with the coach praising the motivation and performance levels of the young duo, Ateba and Douala. Acknowledging Choupo-Moting's importance, Song aims to lead The Indomitable Lions to reclaim the Africa Cup of Nations trophy, last secured in 2017. In the previous edition, hosted by Cameroon, they finished third.


The squad boasts a mix of international experience, featuring players from renowned clubs like Manchester United and Napoli, and emerging talents from domestic and lesser-known leagues. With goalkeeping options including Andre Onana and defensive stability provided by players like Harold Moukoudi and Darlin Yongwa, Song aspires to guide Cameroon to success in the upcoming tournament in the Ivory Coast, scheduled from January 13 to February 11.


Squad Highlights

- Goalkeepers: Andre Onana (Manchester United/ENG), Devis Epassy (Abha FC/KSA), Simon Ngapandouetnbu (Marseille/FRA), Fabrice Ondoa (Nimes/FRA)

- Defenders: Jean-Charles Castelletto (Al-Raed Saudi/KSA), Harold Moukoudi (AEK Athens/GRE), Oumar Gonzalez (Al-Raed Saudi/KSA), Darlin Yongwa (Lorient/FRA), Nouhou Tolo (Seattle Sounders/USA), Christopher Wooh (Rennes/FRA), Enzo Tchato (Montpellier/FRA), Junior Tchamadeu (Stoke City/ENG), Malcom Bokele (Bordeaux/FRA)

- Midfielders: Yvan Neyou (Leganes/ESP), Olivier Kemen (Kayserispor/TUR), Olivier Ntcham (Samsunspor/TUR), Andre-Frank Zambo Anguissa (Napoli/ITA), Wilfried Nathan Douala (Victoria United), Ben Elliot (Reading/ENG)

- Forwards: Karl Toko-Ekambi (Abha/KSA), George-Kevin Nkoudou (Damac/KSA), Vincent Aboubakar (Besiktas/TUR), Faris Pemi Moumbagna (Bodo Glimt/NOR), Francois Mughe (Marseille/FRA), Frank Magri (Toulouse/FRA), Leonel Ateba (Dynamo de Douala), Clinton Njie (Sivasspor/TUR)


Hot Topics

close button
Please fill captcha :