Best Odds Center
best odds centre button
Click here!
Live Sport
watch live tv button
Click here!
to watch
Click here!
Live Scores
play watch Live Score button
Click here!

28 Clubs from 13 States set for NSF Inter Club Challenge in Abeokuta

Posted : 01 April 2024

The organizers of the NSF Inter Club Challenge Abeokuta-2024 announced on Monday that the lineup of teams competing for honors at Abeokuta-2024 is now complete after the conclusion of the South-South Zonal Play-Off in Benin City, Edo State.

The organizers stated that Benin SC, Victory SC of Warri, and Uyo SC were the latest clubs to book their tickets for the Inter Club Challenge finals in Abeokuta, Ogun State, Southwest Nigeria.

``The host, Benin Scrabble Club, was the first to punch their ticket for the grand finals from the South-South Zonal Play-Off with 10 wins and a cumulative points of plus 1287, ahead of Victory SC of Warri.

``Fresh from Accra, the Ghanaian capital, with Team Nigeria at the 13th African Games, Tega Okiemute was just too hot to handle, and his dexterity on the board was awesome, dropping only 2 out of 15 games with a cumulative points of plus 960.

``Zuofa Peres and captain George Ezinore also put in a good shift for Benin SC.

``Victory SC secured 9 wins and a cumulative points of plus 1390.

``Godwin Victor, Akpojotor Ochuko, Jacob Tone, Larry Etuwa, and captain Emmanuel Umujose all played their part in ensuring victory for Victory SC in the Play-Off directed by multiple African Games gold medal-winning coach, Prince Anthony Ikolo.

The organizers added, and ``Ecrabblers from the land of promise, Uyo Scrabble Club with this gang of word warriors, Prestige Archibong, Ryan Jacob, Victor Owokere, Ekpo Emmanuel, and Elvis James, garnered 6 wins with a minus 1642 cumulative points.

``Despite the good showing of the captain of Team Nigeria at the last West African Scrabble Championship, Ben Quickpen, Yenagoa SC could not secure a place in the finals in Abeokuta as they came first from the bottom with a minus 1035 cumulative points from 3 victories from 15 rounds of games.

``It's imperative to state that under the captaincy of current African Scrabble Champion, Enoch Nwali, UNILAG Scrabble Club marched into the finals by dominating group A of the South West Play-off, recording three wins over Ibadan SC and BSP SC.

``Nwali was supported by Kareem Jamiu, who came third in the second edition of 'Scrabble In The Jungle' in Lagos last year, Babajide Alagbada, Tunde Saporu, the winner of the 2023 Engineer Toke Aka Jubilee National Open in Abuja. Ebenezer Toyeme and Victor Ukpe complete the UNILAG Scrabble Club team.

``Pyramid SC, captained by Dipo Akanbi, a former NSF Green Jacket holder, navigated their way into the final phase of the NSF Inter Club Championship with victories over Surulere SC and Egbin SC in group B of the South West Play-Off.

``Akanbi won 9 games out of 10, and he had the chance to do 10 over 10 but missed the word SAPIENS against Olaribigbe Hakeem of Surulere SC to seal the game.

``The 2017 NSF Green Jacket holder played 22 bingos in the game against Olaribigbe Hakeem of Surulere SC.

Young and talented John Aiyedun, experienced Ayo Akinfemisoye, and the never-say-it’s-over Femi Simpson, as well as Femi-Ade Wahab and Omijeh Osaghaede, were hand, fully charged to light up their pathway to the finals at Sarank Hotel, Egbin, Ikorodu, Lagos State, the venue of the South West Play-Off.

``Ikorodu SC with 3 wins was too strong for the big guns from Lekki SC and Alausa SC that are making their maiden appearance in the NSF Inter Club Championship in group C.

``Surulere SC sneaked into the NSF Inter Club Challenge finals as winners of the second chance Play off of the South West Zone.

``They edged out Ibadan SC and Lekki Scrabble Club with three wins and a plus 450 cumulative points.

``Kaduna Central Scrabble Club was the first team to pick their ticket to the finals of the NSF Inter Club Championship after brushing aside South Side Scrabble Club to pick the Northwest slot last month.

``Apex Scrabble Club of Abuja, that parades the Nigeria Scrabble Federation (NSF), Technical Director, John Curtis, his brother, Peter Ebomah, young and talented National Sports Festival gold medalist and a member of Team Nigeria to the African Games Jimoh Abdulmumin, 2023 winner of the MGI Patrons Cup, Anthony Odok, qualified for the Challenge finals from the North Central Zonal Play-Off.

``Jos SC, fondly called Rock Solid Jammers, also booked their place in the National finals by beating Central Scrabble Club Abuja A, B, and C teams. Winning 11 rounds, 54 games, and a cumulative of plus 1211 points.

``Anambra Scrabble Club, the sole entrance from the South East, is also through to the national NSF Inter Club Championship finals.

``Warri Scrabble Club, now known as Victory SC that parades famous wordsmith, Emmanuel Umujose, winner of the PANASA President’s Cup, Godwin Victor, Jacob Tone, Larry Etuwa, and Akpojotor Ochuko are the defending champions of the NSF Inter Club Championship.

``Teams that are through to the finals are:

✓ ABEOKUTA SC as the host city club
✓ UNILAG Scrabble Club

28 Clubs from 13 States and the Nigeria Police started the race to reach the finals of the NSF Inter Club Championship.

The NSF Inter Club Challenge is one of the four events lined up for this year’s NSF Scrabble Festival holding at the landmark, June 12 Cultural Centre, Kuto-Abeokuta, Ogun State.

The other events are:

★ Asaph Zadok

 National Championship, which produces the national champion who wears the NSF Green Jacket and State Champion
★ Annual General Meeting (AGM)
★ Awards and Gala Night

Delta State is the defending champions of the Asaph Zadok National Championship


Hot Topics

close button
Please fill captcha :