Best Odds Center
best odds centre button
Click here!
Live Sport
watch live tv button
Click here!
to watch
Click here!
Live Scores
play watch Live Score button
Click here!

Joy Abiye from injury to second time winner of 2023 Lagos Women Run

Posted : 11 November 2023
Joy Abiye, born in Okitipupa, Ondo State, Nigeria, and a member of the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC), put her injury woes behind her on Saturday to once again emerge as the winner of the 2023 Lagos Women Run for the second consecutive time.

Abiye outpaced other runners from Plateau State to become the winner of the 8th edition of the 10km women's race.

Abiye was the winner of the 2021 Lagos Women Run in its sixth edition, completing the 10km race in 33:41:4, earning a cash prize of N1 million.

The 8th edition, which saw participation from over 50,000 women from around the world, was flagged off at 7:00 am at Tafawa Balewa Square (TBS) and concluded at the Mobolaji Johnson Arena, following a route through Lagos Island and part of Victoria Island.

In second place was veteran long-distance runner Deborah Pam from Plateau State, also the winner among local marathoners at the 2023 Access Bank Lagos City Marathon. Her compatriot from Plateau State, Patience Dalyop, secured third place, with Elizabeth Nuhu finishing in fourth position, and another veteran, Vera Yohanna, taking fifth place.

An elated Abiye, upon her victory, described it as a historic achievement.

"I am very excited to win again because I trained rigorously and prepared myself mentally. Last year, I couldn't win, and I ended up in fourth place due to an injury, but this year, I committed myself to it, and I'm grateful to God for the victory," she said.


Hot Topics

close button
Please fill captcha :