7th NYG 2023: 70 players from 17 states search for honours in the scrabble event

Posted : 25 September 2023
The organisers of the 7th National Youth Games (NYG) stated on Monday that 70 players from 17 states of the Federation have confirmed their participation in the scrabble event at the ongoing 7th National Youth Games in Asaba, Delta State, Nigeria.

The players will be competing for honours in six categories. Boys and girls doubles, mixed doubles, boys and girls singles, and the team event for boys and girls The numbers of players in Asaba, Nigeria's sporting capital, show that 37 of the scrabble contingent are boys and 33 are girls, and all the sporting zones of the country are represented.

The South South Zone is well represented by Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Delta, Edo, and Rivers, while Kwara, Nasarawa, Niger, and Plateau are holding it down for the North Central Zone, and it's Ekiti, Lagos, Ogun, and Oyo from the West.

Anambra and Imo are the touch-bearers from the South East; Kebbi is the only state from the North West; and Adamawa is the sole North East team for the scrabble event of the 7th National Youth Games. A good number of players who shone brilliantly at the maiden edition of the African Youth Scrabble Championship in Lagos State last month are in attendance in Asaba.

That exclusive list is headed by Clinton Imode, Abdul Qudus Aliuo, Saviour Onazi, Pereowei Edide, Philip Akhabue, John Daniel, Peace Adegunte, and Demilade Lawrence. All eyes will be on Bayelsa, Delta, Edo, Kwara, Lagos, Plateau, Nasarawa, Niger, Ogun, Oyo, and Rivers for a good showing at the Games.

The new Multi-Purpose Hall of Stephen Keshi Stadium, which played host to the scrabble event at the 21st National Sports Festival last year, is the same venue for the youth scrabble competition.

The President of the Nigeria Scrabble Federation (NSF), Engineer Toke Aka, says the young wordsmiths in Asaba for the National Youth Games (NYG) are the future of the game of words not only in Nigeria but around the world.

“The NSF will continue to open up the space for the game of scrabble to blossom by reaching out to schools where we can catch them young.”Toke Aka said

The NSF President stated that at the last African Youth Scrabble Championship in Lekki-Lagos, Team Nigeria took all the honours at stake, and so the battle of Asaba will be hard, challenging, tough, and equally exciting.

“We know most of the youngsters in attendance, and we also know what they can bring to the board; however, there will be lots of upsets as new faces are ready to show their word power, tactical play, board management, mental strength, as well as their dexterity on the board.”

Engineer Toke Aka added At the last National Sports Festival, 14 out of the 27 states that competed had a medal to show for participating in the scrabble event.
Competition list;
Number of States 17
Number of Players 70
Number of female 33
Number of male 37
Regional spread:
South South 5 States
South West 4 States
South East  2 States
North Central 4 States
North West 1 State
North East 1 State
1. Adamawa
1. Francis Isaac - Male
2. Simthe Jimjel - Male
3. Noel Leonard - Male
2. Akwa Ibom
1. Umorok Justice - Male
2. Moses Joshua - Male
3. Moses Emmanuel - Male
4. Bassey Beulah - Female
5. Frank Goodnews - Female
3. Anambra
1. Jude Chidera - Male
2. Daniel Chima – Male
3. Ubanmmayie Michael - Male
4. Chukwuemeka Victoria - Female
5. Michael Cynthia - Female
6. Ubanmmayie Catherine - Female
4. Bayelsa
1. Pereowei Edide - Male
2. August Shannon - Male
3. Kemewariofa Josephine - Female
4. Igbe Elliana - Female
5. Delta
1. Imode Clinton - Male
2. Avworo Joseph - Male
3. Ikekeregor Elohor - Female
4. Ohwevwo Alexandra - Female
5. Ohwevwo Ivy - Female
6. Edo
1. Ejenakevbe Ese - Male
2. Omoregie Miracle - Male
3. Ejenakevbe Gold - Male
4. Nwabuzor Joy - Female
5. Eghe Gifted - Female
7. Ekiti
1. Adegunte Peace - Male
2. Oke Opeyemi - Male
3. Dada Oluwaferanmi - Female
4. Omoleye Purpose - Female
5. Adegunte Nora - Female
8. Imo
1. Dike Blessing - Male
2. Benson Marvellous - Male
3. Ajibola David - Male
4. Duruaku Blossom - Female
5. Onyekwere Michelle - Female
6. Duruaku Chikaima - Female
9. Kebbi
1. Ibrahim Abubakar - Male
10. Kwara
1. Aliu AbdulQudus - Male
2. Sufyan Boluwatife - Male
3. Khalid Olosun - Male
4. Balqees Ajao - Female
5. Sakariyau Haleema - Female
6. Olojoku Hadiyah - Female
11. Lagos
1. Akhabue Philip - Male
2. John Daniel - Male
3. Ekeruche Sophia - Female
4. Agbabiaje Oluwanifemi - Female
12. Nasarawa
1. Umar Musa - Male
2. Mairiga Zainab - Female
3. Musa Aisha - Female
13. Niger
1. Onazi Saviour - Male
2. Bello Khalifa - Male
14. Ogun
1. Demilade Lawrence - Male
2. Mohammed Gbadebo - Male
3. Nifemi Ogundele - Male
4. Sanusi Aishat - Female
5. Osoba Anjola - Female
6. Fafiolu Erioluwa - Female
15. Oyo
1. Raji Uthman - Male
2. Lawal-Ibrahim Ahmid - Male
3. Lawal-Ibrahim Ahmidah - Female
16. Plateau
1. Abdullahi Junior - Male
2. Abdullahi Hauwa - Female
3. Monday Happiness - Female
4. Monday Precious - Female
17. Rivers
1. Jumbo-Egwurugwu Peculiar - Male
2. Richard Treasure - Female


Hot Topics

Best Odds Center
best odds centre button
Click here!
Live TV
watch live tv button
Click here!
to watch
10 Bet button
play watch Live Score button
Click here!
Live Scores
play watch Live Score button
Click here!
close button
Please fill captcha :